Average Rating

6.8

The Average Guy

6.7

Man on a Budget

7.1

Quality Obsessed
  • For the average hair type (rating 6.8/10), it can be a solid product for some, but not for others. So I don’t think it offers easy and consistent all-round results to a large variety of people. Meaning, the results could be a bit hit and miss for the average guy, depending on the hair type.
  • If you’re on a budget (good value rating 6.7/10) and just need a product to cover the essentials then it might be a bit pricey and complicated to use. And while it can double as a pre and post styler, it can require quite a specific styling method, making it less suitable for all occasions. However, it does come in quite a large size jar (comparatively) and doesn’t require you to use a lot.
  • If price isn’t an obstacle and you’re opinion of value is just the products quality (you’re expected value is 7.1/10), then this might be something worth adding to your hair product arsenal. The packaging has a nice futuristic look, and if you have the right hair type it can deliver quite good styling results while maintaining the health of your hair.

What is it?

Transcend by Lockharts is a Wax Clay Hybrid with versatile styling capablities for both texture and stick finishes. It leaves a strong slightly oiled matte finish which can remains reworkable throughout the day (if reworking is kept to a minimum).

Who is this product for

It is ideal for shorter hair and for thicker medium length hair too. It gives you control leaving you with a softer finish by the end of the day. For medium hair lengths, I’d recommend a light light mist of hair spray to keep the style locked in all day. It can be capable of both matte (blow dried) and slight shine (air-dried) finishes. I’d only recommend it for darker hair types as it can appear a bit greasy in lighter hair colours (i.e. blonde).

Overview

Overall, Lockhart has done a good job at creating a long lasting high hold product. It works better solo, though I would say this product is more for controlled hairstyles rather than casual hairstyles and works best when you lock it in place and don’t touch your hair. I think if you want an uncomplicated easy to use product, then this isn’t for you. I think its a good product, but that is most suited to users who are willing to put some time and effort into achieving a specific style. Due to its difficult and rough application and texture it is more suited to shorter or thicker hair, but requires a blow dryer for styling.

The Breakdown

Affordability 8.5/10

With 4 OZ (114g) for a price of 18.95 USD (~$30 AUD, ~£20 GBP) it’s pretty standard pricing for a mid-range/premium product. Additionally, coming it a fairly large jar and requiring small sized amounts per use, you do get the value out of it. So it should last longer than a lot of other products.

Hold 7.4/10

On the jar it claims to have a high hold, and for once I could say that is correct. Though that high hold is at the cost of an easy application, so unless you have short or thick have that high you may struggle to make good use of the hold. It is a reworkable hold, but it falls down in points because it isn’t a particularly versatile hold, making it best for structured and tamed hairstyle.

When used with a bit of hairspray and left untouched, I don’t have much trouble getting the style to last through the day, so long as I can get it right to begin with. It starts off as quite a thick hold making it hard to run your hands through, but usually turns into a softer hold by the end of the day.

Application 4/10

It can also be a bit unpredictable when cock-tailed with other styling products, so I would recommend using on its own as both a pre and post styler. I always get varied results when I use it with other products, because its an unforgiving product, if you apply too much it becomes very hard to work with. Additionally, to get the best results with this I had to only ever apply it to clean hair.

The application can get quite rough if you have fine hair with quite a bit of tugging and usually isn’t a problem for thicker hair types. Since my hair is really fine I find it very difficult to apply to dry hair, so it performed better for me when applied it to damp hair before using a blow dryer to dry my hair completely.

If you have short or thick hair, you could get away with this product being your daily driver.

Scent 9.2/10

 The wax clay hybrid has a peppermint fragrance that in my opinion delivers a nice natural smelling product, where the scent isn’t too strong or offensive to the senses, that like most products disappears once applied to the hair.

Durability 6.9/10

Transcend hold up quite well throughout the day, if I dose my styled hair with a light coat of hairspray, it will usually get me through the day holding up really well. However, even without the hairspray it still works quite well as long as a don’t touch it too often. It definitely loses some texture throughout the day which is why I normally add some dry shampoo or texture powder after applying. It is fairly light weight after a couple hours in the hair, so I found it to be a lot more durable with short hair than long hair, as it couldn’t support the weight of longer hair.

I would say this product is not suitable for all climates, in winter Its becomes very difficult to use, because the product goes a lot harder and tougher to apply and rework. When I had short hair I found that it could get me through a work day and keep my hair looking good and styled in warm weather, but would get a bit greasy or weak in humid weather.

Is it lifeproof? For me, no. It doesn’t suit my fine hair and I can only use in when I have shorter hair and in warmer but not humid conditions. It can give quite a strong hold if you can actually manage to apply it, but softens slightly throughout the day. Although its water-based, I’d say once you start reworking it, it starts to act more like an oil-based product, which can get a bit greasy after a while or when in dirty hair. It can hold up to a bit of sweat, but like most products the damper your hair gets the more hold it will lose.

Ingredients 8.8/10

Beeswax, Cateareth 20,Water,P EG40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Kaolin,PEG7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Candelilla Wax, Microcrystalline Wax, Polysorbate 60, Jojoba oil, Carnauba Wax, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, Peppermint Oil, Lavender Oil, Tea tree Oil 

Overall, Transcend has a pretty decent list of ingredient which should help to protect your hair against the heat of blow drying. I would say it is healthy for your hair, so it will help maintain condition of your hair, but given the balance of ingredients probably doesn’t do anything to improve it.

Washability 6.4/10

Although it’s water-based, and it usually takes a good shampoo to wash out all the oils, otherwise, it can look a bit greasy. It is also good as a second-day product (if you don’t reapply), as I find it works well with a bit of dry shampoo allowing me to restyle the next day without washing.

Finish/Look 6/10

If used right, it usually has a matte finish, however, if used in damp hair it can leave a bit of a natural shine, it also tends to change from a matte finish to a natural finish after you rework it a few times. Most of the time in clean hair it looks pretty good, however, for lighter hair colors (such as natural blonde) it can make it look a little greasy throughout the day or if you apply it to unwashed hair.

If you have short or darker hair I would definitely say it gives a good finish (worthy of a higher rating), however, it’s difficulty of use in longer and light hair types, brings down its average performance and finish results.

Personal Opinion

I always get inconsistent performance from this product, it’s kind of bizaar. I think it’s almost a really good product, however, it is really difficult to scoop, emulsify, apply and style with, making it hard to achieve the desired style, especially in long or fine hair.

It can be used as a pre-styler to deliver a bit more hold and shape. However, given the strength earthy colour of the product, it is probably better for people with darker hair colours than blonde, because it affects the lighter transparent tones in light hair colours to make the hair look a bit dirty/greasier than it actually is.

 

I would only recommend this for people darker and short hair.

Would I buy it again?

No

Is it right for you?

Follow the steps below First, identify whether you have fine, normal, or thick (coarse) hair, and focus on that part of the table. Second, do you have short, medium length, or long hair? Third, consider whether the price matters to you, such as;

  • If you’re on a tight budget, the value to you is in the Budget row
  • If you’re just the regular guy and want to invest in some quality hair products, the value to you is in the Normal Pricing row.
  • If the price doesn’t matter and you just want the best products, the value to you is in the Price isn’t an issue.

Match your hair type to your price preference, to see a rating tailored to your requirements of a product. Note: Value Ratings are out of 10

I’ve analysed the product with considerations that affect people’s different hair types, as well as price preference. Every product works differently for different people, so I’ve added variables into my ratings to offer you a unique rating customised your budgetary needs and hair type, to hopefully give you a better indication of whether it’s right for you.

Where can You get this?

As a homebrewed internet brand, it’s not always easily accessible worldwide, if you live in the US it is quite good value and can be ordered through the Lockhart Authentic website. It is also available outside the US on websites like amazon and thepomadeshop.com.au.

Thanks for reading, please let me know in the comments about how well this review worked out for you. If please let me know if you have any feedback on the criteria for the unique value chart