Average Rating

  • For the average hair type (rating 6.9/10), the Hybrid Cream Clay isn’t really powerful enough to offer reliability across the board.
  • If you’re on a budget (good value rating 6.2/10) and just need a product to cover the essentials then it might be a bit pricey (especially once you factor in shipping).
  • If price isn’t an obstacle and your opinion of value is just the products quality (you’re expected value 8.2/10), then this could be something worth trying.

Overview

Overall the Hybrid Cream Clay by Blumaan is a really nice product, personally, I quite like it since it offers good hair benefits, cocktails well with other products, and it applies and washes out easily. It’s just a comfortable product to use that makes my hair feel nice. It doesn’t have a lot of styling power (medium) to help achieve that perfect volumised look on its own in longer hair, but it’s enough to rock shorter or lower volume natural looking hairstyles. It’s got a matte finish in clean dry hair, however, it can make slightly dirty hair look greasier. Not that I really use it as a pre-styler (because there are better pre-stylers out there) It also works nicely as a pre-styler giving a more natural look with a bit of control.

The Breakdown

Affordability 5.3/10

With 2.5OZ (74ml) for a price of 19.50 USD (~$25 AUD, ~£15 GBP) plus shipping its not the most affordable product unless you live in the U.S. Although it comes in a decent sized container and it does require a bit more product that usually product per use to get enough hold.

Hold 6.3/10

I’d say Hybrid has a medium strength hold with light texture, that is easily reworkable. Even though it weighs down longer fine hair, you can sort of tell its meant for fine hair, because the hold, although medium strength is probably too light to tame thick hair. It’s got plenty of styling options, but its lack of hold makes it a bit less of a versatile product. Whether it’s used as a pre or post styler the product is not quite versatile enough with its hold factor, not catering to all hairstyles, and struggling to maintain volume in longer hair for the entire day.

Application 8/10

Post-styling application is easy because of the creamy texture that glides into your hair, but the “delayed hold activation is a bit inconvenient if you don’t have access to a mirror later on, although I didn’t really notice much difference in the hold after 15 minutes.

Scent 5.6/10

I’m not really a fan of the scent, it doesn’t smell like it really has a fragrance and that you can just smell what resulted from mixed the ingredients together. This isn’t a huge deal because it’s not very strong or offensive, and you likely won’t even notice it once its in your hair.

Durability 4.5/10

Is it lifeproof? The product lasts throughout the day, but it doesn’t really maintain longer hair volume throughout the day or in warmer/humid climates. I found that unless I had a lower volume side-swept hairstyle, I had to keep reworking it. It worked a lot better for me when I had shorter hair over winter.

Ingredients 9/10

Hybrid has a good list of ingredients providing healthy nutrients and hair benefits that overall make the product safe to use and good for your hair. Its formulation reflects its higher-end price appearing to use good quality ingredients with benefits that you won’t usually find in budget products.

Washability 8.4/10

The product is easy to work between and during washes. Most of the product washes out with wish just water, but the leftover residue makes it easier to style second-day hair. And all of the product washes out easily after using shampoo.

Finish/Look 7/10

The packaging is a bit misleading, I don’t think its I high hold product as indicated. it’s definitely more of a medium hold product. However, it is correct in that it does give a matte finish.

Who’s this for

I’de consider the Hybrid Cream Clay by Blumann to be more of a premium product that may not be for everyone. It offers good benefits and reasonable styling capabilities, so it could be something worth getting if you’ve got the making and care about the quality of the ingredients. It’s just a bit too pricey for its styling capabilities and hold for the average guy or someone on a tight budget. It is good for finer hair types because it applies so easily, however, it kind of weighs down the hair making it hard to maintain volume with its medium-light hold. So I would say this product is more by people with shorter hairstyles or people with longer hair (purely because of its ease of application) who prefer wearing their hair down with a lower volume messy textured style.

Is it right for you?

Follow the steps below

First, identify whether you have fine, normal, or thick (coarse) hair, and focus on that part of the table.

Second, do you have short, medium length, or long hair?

Third, consider whether the price matters to you, such as;

  • If you’re on a tight budget, the value to you is in the Budget row
  • If you’re just the regular guy and want to invest in some quality hair products, the value to you is in the Normal Pricing row.
  • If the price doesn’t matter and you just want the best products, the value to you is in the Price isn’t an issue.

Match your hair type to your price preference, to see a rating tailored to your requirements of a product.

Note: Value Ratings are out of 10

I’ve analysed the product with considerations that affect people’s different hair types, as well as price preference. Every product works differently for different people, so I’ve added variables into my ratings to offer you a unique rating customised your budgetary needs and hair type, to hopefully give you a better indication of whether it’s right for you.

Thanks for reading, please let me know in the comments about how well this review worked out for you. If please let me know if you have any feedback on the criteria for the unique value chart